DOGGIE PROTECTIVE SERVICES

Harper

Dachshund x Italian Greyhound
11 months old - Short coat - Female

Good with dogs
Good with kids

Harper is an 11 month old Dachshund-Italian Greyhound mix. She came into our rescue very shy and withdrawn. But love won over! This girl has blossomed in her foster home in 2 weeks. We are blown away by the girl who clung to her rescuer begging for her to help and not leave her to this girl who runs with unashamed excitement and love for her foster family. She does twirls, dances on her back feet and has nothing but love to offer her people. This is the girl we know she will be in her new home. She may be shy initially but boy oh boy, she has nothing but personality to offer if you give her a chance.

Harper gets along well with other dogs. She has lived with big and little dogs. She definitely finds her confidence with other dogs. She would be an ideal candidate to join another dog already in the home. She will learn to trust that much quicker if she has another dog who braves the way for her. Harper is crate trained and house trained.

Here is what Harper's foster mom has to say about her: "Harper is one of my favorite dogs I have ever fostered. I just adore her! She's such a happy girl. Harper LOVES to cuddle on the couch. She's a great snuggler. She will even let me put the weight of my entire head on her tiny body and use her as a pillow! She also loves going for walks and sniffing all the smells. She's great on leash and doesn't pull. She tolerates her bossy foster brother pushing her around and her silly foster mom dressing her up in different outfits. Harper is a smart girl and learns commands quickly. We're working on getting her to sit to get her leash on and off and the command "crate." She sleeps through the night in her crate without making a peep and waits to be let out in the morning. She's not a barker at all. If a stranger comes into the house, she might bark for a minute at first, but she settles down really quickly and within an hour or two, she's ready to let this new person pet her and become her friend. Harper stays home by herself while I am at work, which in the summertime means she is alone for about 7 hours. She hasn't had any accidents while I am gone (and doesn't have access to a yard- she just holds it). She's an all around great dog, and as much as I love her, I can't wait for her to find an amazing furever home to dote on her!"

Harper is only an option for a home that has had a dog in the last 3 years. If there are children they need to be over the age of 8.

Apply for adoption

Adoption FAQ